Pork Liver Stir Fry

I swear I’m becoming more domestic everyday.

And more absent minded as well, so it seems.

After reheating something in the microwave the other day, I set the plastic cover thing on the stove top, forgetting that I had just usED said stove top. Midway through eating my dinner the smell of burning plastic finally got my attention. Luckily enough I remembered a tip I read somewhere long ago that flash freezing melting plastic will pop it right off the hot surface. Dumped a bowl of ice cubes on it and voila! whaddya know. some sizzling, some popping, and a sheet of plastic really did just pop right off.

Go me.

now back to dinner.

my doctor says i’m anemic and need to eat more liver.  a good reason to stop putting off learning how to cook this gastronomical delight of an organ, no? (yea yea. some of you may disagree, but liver is AWESOME.)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pork liver
  • 1 med zucchini, sliced
  • 1 med carrot, sliced
  • 1/2 med yellow onion, sliced flat
  • ginger, julienne
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 capfuls of rice wine
  • 3 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • hoisin sauce
  • black pepper (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. cut liver into thin, even slices
  2. dissolve corn starch in rice wine, soy sauce. add liver and ginger. set aside to marinate.
  3. heat wok or a large nonstick pan, add oil, fry garlic until fragrant.
  4. add carrots, saute 1-2 min, then add onions and zucchini. squeeze in some hoisin sauce and continue cooking until almost soft. empty into a bowl and set aside.
  5. reheat wok. add liver, quick sear until no longer pink. reintroduce veggies into pan. add more soy sauce (or hoisin if you prefer a sweeter taste) if needed, mix evenly until liver cooked through. remove and serve with rice (although i find veggies are a tastier and healthier alternative.) 
Tags: , ,

Leave a comment