Snow Pea and Scallop Stir Fry

I love how quick and easy stir frys are. It’s a lazy person’s dream, really. (Or, as I like to tell myself, not lazy, just busy.)

You can prep all your ingredients way ahead of time, and the actual cooking takes about 5 min. No wonder the majority of my contribution in the kitchen growing up was chopping vegetables for my mother . It’s 75% of the work! I always asked her when she was gonna teach me how to cook for REAL. It’s been almost 20 years and I’ve finally learned: If you cant work a knife, don’t bother at the stove.

Yea whatever. I’ve served my time. I had Steph to julienne my veggies for me today.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 carrot
  • 1/4 lb mini scallops
  • a handful of snow peas
  • garlic salt (i was too lazy to mince garlic)
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth/water
  • 1 tsp garlic chili sauce
  • 2 tbs rice wine
  • 1/2 tbs cornstarch

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. julienne carrots and snow peas.
  2. rinse scallops, dry off with paper towels
  3. dissolve cornstarch in rice wine and coat scallops evenly
  4. heat oil in wok on high, quickly saute scallops and remove from heat (don’t cook all the way through.)
  5. add veggies, garlic salt, just a BIT of broth for some moisture and saute 2 min.
  6. reintroduce scallops to wok and stir in chili sauce.
  7. remove from heat and serve!

    lunch for tomorrow? done.

    easy pea-sy.

    Leave a comment