Vegan Apple Fritters

img_8288

These were delicious! Crispy on the outside, soft and doughy on the inside. Everything a fritter should be. Mildly sweet and very autumn-y. AND they are egg, dairy, and sugar free. I know, I know… Alton Brown would be ASHAMED. But I made them as finger food for my 1 year old. (Holy shit I have a one year old?) Otherwise I’d add a sugary glaze. Even so, I snuck more than a few bites for myself.

I never thought I’d make ANYthing vegan. But I guess when you have a kid that’s allergic to milk and eggs….you learn to get creative. Like… did you know the butter to oil substitute is 1 to 3/4? And applesauce is a great binder when you’re not using eggs? Learning as I go.

INGREDIENTS:

  • ~1/2 cup of apples, chopped finely (pea size?)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4  tbs avocado oil (or another oil of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup soymilk
  • cinnamon
  • allspice

INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Add as much of the chopped apple as you like. It’ll be a sticky mess. NOT like pancake batter.
  • Heat a cup or so of oil in a small sauce pot. An inch or so deep.
  • Drop golfball sized blobs of batter and fry, turning as needed, until golden brown.
  • Remove onto paper towel to drain.
  • EAT.

Had to make my own applesauce cause we ran out soooo this took me a lot longer than I thought it would. TIP: Get store bought applesauce.

img_8284

Leave a Reply

