Spiced Apple Bread

Let’s start out by saying… I can not bake. I rarely pull out my measuring utensils, I have trouble following instructions (and not just in the kitchen), and the last time I tried to make a dessert, I ended up presenting chocolate chip biscuits to my friend at her birthday party (I mean come on. How many different types of flour can there BE?)

Much to my surprise, last night’s little endeavor turned out to be quite a success. Ok, so I accidentally mis-measured my baking soda and had to double the recipe, but fortunately that first loaf quickly disappeared between snatching hands and a chorus of “yummy” sounds. And nothing makes me happier than people making yummy sounds at my food.

(That’s the thing about baking at 12am…terrible lighting…)

This Spiced Apple Bread was adapted from about.com. Imagine that. Useful site, I’ve found. The final product is more cake-like than bread-like, with juicy morsels of apple and plump raisins dispersed throughout a moist, dense, cinnamon-y  cake. I might add a bit more pecans next time. I liked the extra crunch and wanted more of it.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 2/3 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tbs apple pie spice
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 cups coarsely chopped apples
  • 1 cup golden raisins
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • optional topping: 2 teaspoons sugar mixed with 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325F. Mix flour, baking soda, salt, and spices in a small bowl. In a separate, larger mixing bowl, mix sugar, eggs, vanilla. Then fold in raisins and pecans and apples. Slowly incorporate dry ingredients. Butter/grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans and pour in batter. Bake for 20 min. Remove and top with optional cinnamon sugar mixture. Return to oven for 40 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Set aside and cool for ~10-15 minutes before you slice and serve!

One Comment to “Spiced Apple Bread”

  1. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! I love your recipe! Especially the Apple Chunks! 😀

Leave a Reply

